News & events


May 29, 2018


Pune, May 21, 2018: Championship leader R Natraj from team TVS racing once again failed to overcome the ghost of Pune as was seen last year.  as he lost to his team mate Rajendra RE from Hosur at the MRF two wheeler rally of Pune. Pune’s Pinkesh Thakkar scored his second straight win to extend his championship lead whereas Aishwarya PM overcame a stiff challenge to win her third straight win of the season.

The third round of MRF Mogrip FMSCI national rally championship witnessed some of the most stunning results of the season as Natraj once again lost to Rajendra. It was Rajendra who last year broke the juggernaut of Natraj here at Pune. This year too Natraj failed to find a solution for his foreign class RTR 450 FX on the difficult terrain on the road surrounding the Panshet dam.  After leading the opening stage by 18 seconds over Natraj, Rajendra maintained a clear lead in both the remaining stages to win in style clocking 44:50. Natraj could score only 46:35 but he succeeded to take second position amidst strong challenges from the Indian make classes by Samuel Jacob and Suhail Ahmed. Samuel did well to score 46:43 time to take the third position at Pune from Suhail who had earlier recorded third positions at both of the opening rounds at Baroda and Indore.

The ladies open class witnessed the toughest fight of the season as championship leader Aishwarya PM recorded a stunning win over Fazeela U by 1 second. Fazeela begin in style winning the opening stage by a huge 34 seconds. Aisharya did an excellent comeback in the next stage as both the leaders were locked on 18:28 time. It was the last stage where Aisharya drove all hands up  to break the huge margin by one second. Fazeela went down dismally to record 18:47 where as Aiswarya scored 18:12

The scooter class was marred by engine failures as defending champion Syed Asif Ali from team TVS racing vehicle recorded a late entry in the very first stage. He would finish out of time. Team Aprilia’s Pinkesh Thakkar took opportunity to win second straight round to extend his lead scoring 53:08. His team mate Venkatesh Shetty was not that fortunate as he has to settle for third place against excellent riding by a privateer from Nashk Young Yash Mohan Pawar who took the second place scoring 55:38.


Mayuresh Nimbalkar won the Star of Pune class beating Nikhil Kamthe who had to settle for a second place.

On Saturday the rally was given a ceremonial start at the hands Mr. Satish Nair, SSE In charge, MRF TYRES, Pune. Mr. Nachiket Thorat, Corp. Manager Sales, Indian Oil Servo, Pune. Ms. Sunita Pasalkar, Sarpanch, Shirkoli,  Ms. Vaijayanti Rajabhau Pasalkar, Mr. Akshayraje Pasalkar were important dignitaries present. In the evening prizes were given to all the nine different class winners and over all winners and winners of the Star of Pune category.  Record 60 raiders took part in the event. The fourth round will be held at Nashik from 25-26 May.


We use cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By using our site, you consent to our use of cookies.